<< Back to all Blogs
Login or Create your own free blog
Layout:
Home > Category: Uncategorized
 

Viewing the 'Uncategorized' Category

Okay....really?

February 11th, 2017 at 09:35 pm

Went to Dollar General today. Armed with coupons. Finished shopping and am in line. First comment by checker: "Oh my" when she sees my eight coupons.
Then when three of them would not scan she told me they were outdated.
Um, no they are good until March 8.

She says she needs to get the other girl to come up from the back to do it.
I say okay.
She gives me a look and says "I hate to bother her. Her back hurts."
I don't say anything so she calls for the other employee.
Other girl starts doing the coupons.
First girl looks at me and says "Oh, s__t."
Then looks at me and says, "oh, sorry."
Now the entire store had no other shoppers. I am serious. No one waiting in line.

changes in plans

February 6th, 2017 at 06:18 pm

I wont be having my knee replacement surgery tomorrow. I came down with what I guess is the flu on Friday. I had to leave work in the morning and have not left the house since then. Its weird type of flu. The surgeon wants to postpone surgery until Feb. 23. which is okay with me because I feel so bad. They want me to go to the family doctor today and see if I have the type A or whatever. Gahhhhh......
So 25 dollars office call today at doctor. I spent no money this weekend, but DH spent a little, only at the grocery store and gasoline, and then twenty dollars to our oldest son.
Oldest son is 24 and has mild mental retardation, and lots of other issues phychologically. He comes home almost every weekend and always wants spending money. Its a fact that its where at least 80 to 100 dollars a month of our money goes, sometimes more.
I don't know what I have, as far as flu, but its wicked.
Frown

My list

January 31st, 2017 at 10:25 pm

some things about myself-
1. I met my husband on a blind date when I was 17.
2. We have been married 36 and a half years.
3. We have been foster parents at different times over the years, and had at least 54 kids in and out of our home.
4. We have adopted five kids from the foster care system. (three boys and two girls). Only our first was a baby. He was one. The others were 4, 8, 7, and 10.
5. I have worked in the education field since I was 24, the majority with special needs children or adults.
6. I live in the same town where I've lived since I was one. DH and I lived an hour away for 12 years. Other than that, I've always been here. Smile
7. My dad lives in the same house that I grew up in, from the age of one on.
8. I love dogs. We used to raise wienie dogs. We have a 14 year old doxie named Olivia after a character on the Waltons tv show.
9. We have four grandbabies, two boys and two girls, and have another one due in April. A boy.
10. I am starting to panic about debt and retirement, and am grateful for SavingAdvice!

Hello SavingAdvice!

January 15th, 2017 at 08:07 pm

I am totally new to blogging, though I've been reading here for years. I am 55, and DH is 57, soon to be 58. He has worked for 33 years for the same place, as a county employee. It has been a good job, as far as stability, time off, retirement, and health insurance being offered.
I, on the other hand, have been somewhat of a job gypsy, though always in the field of education, other than for the first four years of our marriage (36 years) when I worked for a newspaper.
I am a special education paraeducator, and am currently a substitute for two different districts. In my working years I have worked at many, many, many different schools. I have worked full time in the past at various schools, but for now the substitute thing works best for us. I actually make more money than I would working full time. I have not put any money away for retirement for myself, Frown but DH has KPERS, and another added fund for retirement.
We sold our house last summer and are currently renting, with plans to move to my dad's house and farm in the next few years. I am excited to be here, and am always looking for tips and motivation on saving!